Not long ago I proposed a question: What are the 5 most influential primary sources that have most affected your scholarship, thoughts about antiquity, and/or understanding of the NT/OT.  I am happy to see so many people have responded.  The answers have been as varied and interesting as I hoped they would be.  Since so many people have responded I will break this summary into multiple posts.  Hopefully these lists will prompt others into reading some primary sources they had overlooked or rekindle interests in sources they may have read long ago.

I will start with the people I tagged and the first place blogger was the first to weigh in on this topic.

Jim West (already 6 pages back and counting!)

ANET, The Dead Sea Scrolls (Sectarian materials), Ethiopic Enoch, Jubilees, and 1-2 Maccabees.

Pat McCullough

Book of the Watchers (1 Enoch), The Martyrdom of Perpetua and Felicitas, Two Spirits Treatise + War Scroll combo, Ben Sira, and Tobit.

Brandon Wason

Didache, Mishnah, Josephus’s Antiquities, The Progymnasmata, and Gospel of Thomas.

Ken Brown

Book of Jubilees, Enuma Elish, The Gospel of Thomas, 4QMMT, and Philo.

Mike Aubrey

Mike has yet to provide his 5 primary sources so I thought I would prompt him again.

