Paul Post of the Week 6/7 – 6/13

This week I am doing the unthinkable.  Yes, I have chosen a post that is not directly related to Pauline studies.  I am so impressed with Mark Goodacre’s new NT Pod podcasts that I must mention them.  Although, Goodacre has only posted one podcast thus far, it is excellent.  The audio quality and presentation are top notch.  More importantly, the podcasts provide useful scholarly level information.  Goodacre’s first podcast covered the genealogy in Matthew’s gospel and provided a number of useful nuggets of information.  He states that his podcasts will be 6 minute long, which is perfect for anyone looking for a snippet in their down time.  As a commuter I am hoping I can resist the urge of listening to them instantly and save a few of them for one of my many long commutes up to UCLA.

On a separate note, how does one go about changing the name of a theory.   Whenever,I present the alternatives to Q to students I discuss the Farrer-Goulder theory by stating that it is currently being championed by Mark Goodacre and then provide a plug for his book, The Case Against Q.  Isn’t it about time we made this process simpler and called it the Farrer-Goulder-Goodacre theory?

Another interesting post this week, in fact a Paul post, is by Michael Bird titled Reading for a Romans Course.  In this post Bird lists the five books he would place on a reading list for Romans.  I have often had similar thoughts and would certainly agree that The Romans Debate should be on any such list.  Bird places Moo’s commentary on his list.  While this is certainly an excellent choice, for my courses I am considering requiring that the students buy different commentaries.  I would  have a list of five to ten works depending on the book and then divvy them up between the students.  While this would be more difficult to assign readings and such, I feel that the students would feel more responsible for their material.  They would have to thoroughly understand the position of the commentator they are reading in order to adequately present their commentator’s work to the class.  I should of course state I am envisioning a seminar course.

