Last week I listed some of my favorite commentaries. I thought I would follow up this week with some of the commentaries that I am eagerly awaiting. One of my biggest complaints with my favorite series, Hermeneia, is that many books are missing in the NT series. Also, many of them are dated and need an update. After perusing many other fine blogs, most notably Parablemania, I am confident that Hermeneia will be even more useful once all the volumes are completed. The list of scholars assigned to upcoming volumes is impressive. The Hermeneia volumes I am most excited about are the following:

2 Corinthians – Margaret Mitchell – Anyone who has read her work on 1 Corinthians is certainly interested in what she will do with 2 Corinthians. The Rhetoric of Reconciliation is an excellent work that examines 1 Corinthians through the lens of rhetorical criticism and I am curious to see how much she carries this perspective over to a Hermeneia commentary. As a student of Hans Dieter Betz it may be a commentary similar in style to his work on Galatians. From what I can ascertain, the late Dieter Georgi was originally working on this volume. I am not sure if Mitchell is revising his work or if she is beginning anew. Perhaps someone has more information concerning this issue.

1 Thessalonians – Helmut Koester – The legendary Koester is working on what is sure to be one of the premiere commentaries on 1 Thessalonians. During a recent trip to Harvard I spoke with some graduate students assisting him and … well they gave me no real insight other than not surprisingly he is working with a massive bibliography.

The Pastorals – Abraham Malherbe – I have long been a fan of his work on the relationship of Paul and ancient letter writing. I also enjoy his 1 Thessalonians commentary immensely. Will his commentary replace Marshall’s ICC volume as my first source for the Pastorals? That is doubtful, but it will certainly by on my bookshelf!

James – John S. Kloppenborg – I have read many of Kloppenborg’s works on Q and have always enjoyed his scholarship. While I do not use James in my research often, the name Kloppenborg has me intrigued enough to purchase this volume.

Next post I will consider upcoming volumes from ICC, NIGTC, and others.

